Minutes of the meeting of the **LICENSING** Committee held at the Council Offices, Whitfield on Tuesday 12 June 2012 at 9.30 am.

Present:

Chairman: Councillor B W Butcher

- Councillors: P M Beresford J A Cronk B Gardner S M Le Chevalier M A Russell A R Smith C J Smith J M Smith R J Thompson
- Officers Senior Solicitor Environmental Enforcement and Protection Manager Licensing Team Leader Democratic Support Officer

Also in attendance: Team Leader - Democratic Support

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors P S Le Chevalier, S R Nicholas, M J Ovenden and D G Smallwood.

66 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED: That Councillor B W Butcher be elected Chairman of the Committee for the ensuing Council year.

67 <u>APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN</u>

RESOLVED: That Councillor R J Thompson be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Committee for the ensuing Council year.

68 <u>MINUTES</u>

The Minutes of the meeting of the Committee held on 12 April 2012 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

69 <u>MINUTES OF SUB-COMMITTEE MEETINGS</u>

RESOLVED: That the Minutes of the Sub-Committees held on 20 September 2011, 1 December 2011, 5 January 2012 and 13 February 2012 be received.

70 <u>LICENSING ACT 2003 AND GAMBLING ACT 2005 – APPOINTMENT OF</u> <u>LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEES AND CHAIRMEN OF SUB-COMMITTEES</u>

The Committee considered the report of the Democratic Services Manager which suggested the composition of the five Licensing Sub-Committees and their chairmen, taking account of previous practice and the need to avoid conflicts of interest for Ward Members and for newly appointed Members to gain experience.

- RESOLVED: That the five Licensing Sub-Committees and their Chairmen for the ensuing Council year be as follows:
 - (a) Councillors B W Butcher (Chairman), M A Russell and S C Manion.
 - (b) Councillors P M Beresford (Chairman), J M Smith and S R Nicholas.
 - (c) Councillors A R Smith (Chairman), D G Smallwood and M J Ovenden.
 - (d) Councillors P S Le Chevalier (Chairman), B Gardner and C J Smith.
 - (e) Councillors S M Le Chevalier (Chairman), R J Thompson and J A Cronk.

The meeting ended at 9.34 am.